Here you can learn about the history of this unique building. Fun facts and some original photos.

Mid 19th century - 1857

Construction of the Bossuit-Kortrijk canal

With 1100 men and 40 horses the construction of the Bossuit - Kortrijk canal is started. It was built to create a shorter connection for the ships from Hainaut to the North Sea. The works took three years.


Start-up of pump building

The pump house is put into operation. It was built with bricks from one of the brickyards in Moen, with clay from the canal side and from the Sousterrain tunnel. The building consists of three large parts: a coal storage room, a room for the generators and a machine room.


Full commissioning of the channel

The entire canal is finally put into operation. King Leopold I himself performed the grand opening.

1914 - 1918


During the World War, a lot of damage was done to the canal. The retreating Germans blew up many bridges and locks.

1939 - 1945


The basement in Moen was used as the headquarters of the Germans. Here Göring organised some strategic consultations. As in WWI, the bridge crossings were blown up when the Germans withdrew.


Widening of the canal

A widening of the canal is urgently needed, larger ships with heavier loads of up to 1,350 tonnes must be given better passage. This also requires heavier pumps. The old pumping station with its pumps was no longer adequate and was replaced by two new pumps: one at Bossuit and one at Moen.

1971 - 1992

Decay of the pump house

In the years that followed, the building was no longer used and fell into disrepair.


A new life for the pump building

The town council of Avelgem buys the pump house and takes care of the tourist information centre. In addition, the pump house is also the starting point of some beautiful cycling and walking tours, with a catering establishment as an extra.


Start of renovation works

The building had not been used since the 1970s and had fallen into disrepair. This caused the city to carry out extensive renovation work. These lasted until 1999.


Opening of the new pump house

The opening of the restored pump house also started an intermunicipal cooperation. The building also serves as an information office of the VVV West Flanders Leiestreek.

Discover the entire property during a pleasant afternoon.

We provide guided tours during which you can learn about the history of the building and at the same time discover how drinks such as gin, rum, etc. are made. are made.